Welcome Wednesday: What's your best tips for newbies!

Jimmy Seddon
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 23, 2021

Happy Wednesday Everyone!

I was involved it recording some "how to" videos earlier this week and that gave me an idea for today's post.

I know that not everyone is brand new to Atlassian when they finally get around to joining the community (I know I wasn't).

So my question this week for new and veteran users alike, "What is one thing you wish you knew when you first started using your favorite Atlassian tool?"

If you are brand new to Atlassian, please tell us which tool you are starting to use and one cool thing you really like about your experience so far.

I'll get things started, I really wish that when I first started as an admin, I did a better job of organizing users into proper groups and using "Roles" within projects better than I did.  I was a pain to re-work all of the permissions and I have seen how easy things can be if you set it up correctly from the beginning.

I'd love to hear your tips as well!  Please share in the comments below!

8 comments

Comment

dasawey June 23, 2021

I'm great at putting words together in a coherent way, but when it comes to all of the new technology out there, I'm lost. So, I'm grateful for the wonderful instructional documents available as I begin this monumental task of organizing some sort of cohesive Space for my team.

having a bad day.jpg

Like Jimmy Seddon likes this
Alex Gallien
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 23, 2021

The context menus (gg / .) in Jira usually blow minds. Other shortcuts too, like / to get to quick search or gi to get to advanced search.