Technical Writer Learning Atlassian

Rick Lehtinen March 5, 2021

Greetings, Atlassian People!
I'm a technical writer (20+ years) with a little bit of experience with these great products, gathered when I was embedded in the DevOps team for IO Data Centers (now Iron Mountain) here in Phoenix. I am experienced with ServiceNow, but I see increased calls for Confluence and Jira in job descriptions, and I want to be on the bus. Would love a few Quick-start tips as my most recent contract is ended, and I am ramping up the "next gig hunt", and using the interim for upskilling.
I started writing about technology at Broadcast Engineering magazine (5- years), then moved into semiconductors, then IT. Cisco Networking Academy was a wonderful gig, and I wrote courseware and then did train-the-trainer work. I was working up some exam questions when I was invited to document a new Cisco product, and I have done product guides, user manuals, SOPs, and policy and procedure documents ever since.
Current passion: I am back in night school soaking up math to become familiar with Data Science, ML, and AI. Also in a training program called Quibit-by-Quibit offered by IBM / Code School.
Current Hobbies:  Organic Gardening and playing the tuba. 

Thank You!

Cheers,

Rick Lehtinen

11 comments

Comment

Deepanshu Natani
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 5, 2021

Hi @Rick Lehtinen 

Welcome to the Community! Be sure to check out product collections and Friday Fun.

Since you are experienced with service now, Jira Service Management might be of your interest.

Check out this link for quick start up guide for JSM: https://confluence.atlassian.com/servicemanagementserver/getting-started-with-jira-service-management-939926015.html

Like Jimmy Seddon likes this
Kristján Geir Mathiesen
Community Leader
Community Leader