Hello - I am new to Jira

Bert Rivero July 5, 2019

I am new to Jira and am hoping I can be pointed in the right direction. I am looking to build out our current use of Jira, we are using weekly sprints and they are not working as effectively as I would like. The last place I worked we implemented Kanban boards with swim lanes and that worked like a charm. Is there a way to build Kanban boards as part of weekly sprints assigning work to users. I noticed there is a market place, and am wondering is it better to purchase a plugin that someone has already created or is it easy enough to create them with out that?

Any help would be appreciated

Thank you

Bert

6 comments

Comment

Bastian Stehmann
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 5, 2019

Hi Bert,

Welcome to the Community. 

If you are currently working with sprints, you have a scrum board.

If you want to use a kanban board, you do not have sprints, because in kanban no sprints exist.

But if you just want to use swim lanes, they can be used with a scrum board also.

Just go to board configuration and then to the swim lane setting. 

Like Erica Moss likes this
Davin Studer
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 5, 2019

If you have Jira Software (not Jira Core) and you set up your project as a Jira Software project then you have the ability to create a Kanban board and work your tickets that way. It's built into Jira Software ... no app necessary.

Like # people like this
Carlos Garcia Navarro
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 7, 2019

Hi Bert,