What is the benefit of a Trello board over the JIRA Scrum board?

Marjorie
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 14, 2021

I am new to Trello.  I use JIRA and Confluence daily.  What is the benefits of using Trello as opposed to using JIRA boards?

1 answer

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Hannah Humbert - Simpla Workflows
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 14, 2021

Hi Marjorie! Jira is mainly used in agile software project management, so it's designed in a way to support that (sprints, scrum boards, etc.). For someone that isn't in a technical role, these concepts are foreign and a lot of people will tend to find Jira intimidating, unintuitive, and just not very user-friendly. 

If you're looking for a solution that is suited for a range of different functions or teams and easy to adopt, Trello offers that. Boards are a lot more flexible, so you can design it how you want. A board could be a project, or it could be a place for the team to collaborate on a range of projects, it could be a place for your personal tasks, a place to organize a holiday, a repository to store information - basically, the options are limitless!

Lists (the vertical swimlanes in a board) could be statuses, or they could represent mini projects (what you would call epics), they could represent the different project members, components in a project, the list goes on! 

Trello's really focused on the user experience. Anyone can pick it up easily. It's a lot more visual, intuitive, flexible, and simple to use (which can be a blessing or a curse 😜).

Alexander Bondarev
Rising Star
Rising Star