Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in

Next challenges

Recent achievements

  • Global
  • Personal

Recognition

  • Give kudos
  • Received
  • Given

Leaderboard

  • Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

How do I "empty" all my Trello data

Hi - I'm back on Trello after an absence and want to use it for a series of projects. I still have stuff on there from before that I want to get rid of as I don't want my new team to see it. Is there a way I can just "empty" all my stuff and start from scratch?

Thanks for any input you can give me!! :)

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Esme Crutchley Community Leader Jul 11, 2020

Hi @Martin 

Welcome to the Community, it's great to have you here!

If you go onto the individual boards and make them 'personal' no one in the new team will be able to see them and you will still have them.

You'll see if they're personal or not by looking at the top bar in Trello and next to the board name it'll say what 'team' they're in. If it says 'personal' there's nothing to worry about because you're the only one who can see them, unless you added someone to them previously.

Here is what I'm talking about! 

The top one is on my Business Class account, so it shows the team that it's in, and the bottom one is a Personal board, just in case you wanted to see the difference!

Screenshot 2020-07-12 at 06.23.29.png

If it's already showing as 'Personal' then it's personal and no one in the new team will be able to see it, so you don't need to do anything if you want to keep it. Anyone you added to it previously will be able to see it though, unless you close & delete. 

Screenshot 2020-07-12 at 06.24.08.png

To change this, click on, in my example, the 'Team Crutchley' button and it'll give you a list of places that you can move it to:

Screenshot 2020-07-12 at 06.27.56.png

 

If you want to delete them, on the board you want to delete, click 'Show Menu' then 'More' then 'Close Board' then 'Close' - this will close the board, but it will still be there. When the screen changes to say that you've closed the board, there will be a button that says 'delete board' - if you click on that, it'll be gone forever and you can't get it back, at all, ever!

If you want to make sure that you've kept all you previous boards, change them to 'personal' ones, if you don't want them ever again, close & delete them. 

I hope that makes sense! Please come back to us if I haven't explained something properly!

Esme :)

Thanks, I was able to figure it out with your guidance :)

Like Esme Crutchley likes this
Esme Crutchley Community Leader Jul 12, 2020

Yay!

Glad we could help!

Don't be a stranger!

Esme :)

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
TAGS
Community showcase
Published in Trello

📹 What is Trello?

Hello Community!  My name is Brittany Joiner and I am a Trello enthusiast and Atlassian Community Leader. I'll be sharing with you a series of videos with my top tips on how to best use Trello...

836 views 14 30
Read article

Community Events

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find an event

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Unfortunately there are no Community Events near you at the moment.

Host an event

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local event. Learn more about Community Events

Events near you