Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extracting using multiple wildcards

Matt Page June 21, 2021

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Trello and trying to get my head around Butler and wildcards.

Basically I want to extract various chunks of text from the description when a new card is added / moved and put them into custom fields. I've worked out how to do it OK for one, but I can't see how to do it for 4-7 different fields. 

So as an example my description might be 

Name: Bob Smith

Job Title: Manager

Company: Acme Ltd

Order#: 123456

I want to pull the text from each line (after the colon) into a different custom field. I thought if I included some other identifiers, regex style I might be able to pull this off, but seem to be struggling.

Does anyone have any ideas (or a totally different way of doing this?)

Thanks

Matt

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
milynnus
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 21, 2021

@Matt Page 

Definitely doable. Make sure you include \n\n for each new line. 

milynnus
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 22, 2021

@Matt Page 

For larger dataset, I would suggest using HTTP request to an endpoint. The {httpresponse} will be in key:value pair which you can use it to set the custom field values. You can extend your endpoint to handle the CF updates. 

See https://trello.com/c/ULsKwRLh/43-parse-card-description-for-key-value-pairs-simpl

This is a sample output from Butler console for a more complex card description from a webform from Contalist. It shows the http request from Butler.

Screen Shot 2021-06-23 at 7.49.05 AM.jpg

Matt Page June 23, 2021