Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Due Dates - Is there a way to set up once a due date is due that the client gets an email?

Chris Bradley August 7, 2020

I'm an online coach. I use due dates for client payments. I wondered if there was a way for the client to receive an email once payment is due(1 day before) or do they have to have trello?. If the only way is for them to be invited into a card, then can you also hide what is writing in the description as I often leave keynotes of how their week has gone and don't want them seeing?

Thanks

2 answers

1 vote
Felix
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
August 7, 2020

You could do this with Butler, Trello's automation tool.

It does require a paid Trello subscription (sending email in Butler is only available on the paid plans). Here's an example of a due date rule that could do what you're asking: 

Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 9.30.43 AM.png

Thanks a lot. I have set that up but doesn't seem easy enough to add to all cards? Also, where is the automation tool grabbing the clients email from?

Its easy "add" other prompts like this - Screenshot 2020-08-07 at 15.36.01.png

But the prompt I'm looking for shows this - 

Screenshot 2020-08-07 at 15.35.37.pngThanks in advance.

Felix
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
August 7, 2020

Hey Chris,

in the example, the automation would grab the email address from a custom field on the card, called "Client Email" - you'd need to create this, using the Custom Fields power-up.

Here's an example board I created with the custom field set up: https://trello.com/b/fW2KMPZX/invoice-automation

You could also set the field to not show up on the front of the card.