Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can Butler automatically move a card to another list after a certain time period of inactivity?

Alicia January 17, 2022

Hi,

I can't figure out how to get a card to move to a new list on a condition of time + inactivity. Basically I want to say -

IF: nobody updates or moves this card manually
WHEN: for two weeks
THEN: it needs to be automatically moved to a new list for urgent action

I know I can set it to go red on the due date, but I can't figure out how to make it move on the due date, or make inactivity a trigger.

Right now it looks like the actions make it appear like the card will move immediately and the due date will be set in 14 days, but I want the card to move once it hits the due date (unless it's been updated already).

I am new to Trello so hopefully I am explaining properly, thanks 😊 

2 answers

0 votes
Hannah Humbert - Simpla Workflows
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 23, 2022

Hi @Alicia Hannah Naomi ! Welcome to the community :) if the goal is to be alerted of stagnant cards, potentially using the card aging power-up would achieve what you want? It won't move cards for you, but it will make them increasingly transparent or "old-looking" the longer they stay untouched. 

card aging.PNG

Alternatively, you could use Dashcards to give you a quick report of stagnant cards:

dashcard stale cards.PNG

You can then click into the dashcard once it's created and see a quick list of all stagnant cards. 

0 votes
milynnus
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 17, 2022

@Alicia Hannah Naomi