Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Butler - the first two things I want to do appear to be unsupported

Simon Rigler October 28, 2019

I'm new to Butler, trying to use it on a work board with two initial use cases:

(1) Create a board button for filtering by label - articles suggest community seems to want this but that it's definitely not available, right?

(2) Create a board button to Sort ALL lists by a custom field value; seems to only be possible by specific list (column)? e.g. if I had a custom field 'Release' and 5 columns, I'd need 5 x board buttons to sort them all by 'Release'??

Cheers :)

2 answers

2 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Jireh
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 28, 2019

Hi Simon,

1. When you say filtering, do you mean keeping cards with a certain label and archiving the rest?

2. A board button (and all other commands) can do more than one action. So you don't need one board button for each list. You can create a single board button that will sort all of the lists you need.

Simon Rigler October 29, 2019

Hi Jireh, not archiving, just hiding from view. So if i have 100 cards and 10 have a yellow label, I'd like a 'Filter on Yellow' button so I can isolate those 10 cards at the touch of one (custom) button. I do this a lot, e.g. when using labels to indicate what team a task is assigned to.

Thanks for the board button assistance, that does work, I still think a 'select all' or 'apply to all lists' option would be great :)

0 votes
Answer accepted
Devon Henderson
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 28, 2019

Hi Simon!