Paulo Alves on Trello, Jira, and camping

Paulo_Alves.jpg

@Paulo Alves is a Portuguese Software Developer at Xpand IT. He's a Jira user, but first dipped his toes in the Atlassian Product suite via Trello! Read on to learn how Trello solved his issue tracking problems in addition to his camping aspirations! 

When did you first discover Trello?

I discovered Trello four years ago while searching for free tools to improve software development processes and collaboration between me and my colleagues. While I studied Software Engineering, my university didn’t provide any useful tools that I could use to track issue progress so that I could share the project status with my teachers. I already knew about Jira because I saw a presentation from a company called Xpand IT. In the presentation, they shared some of their Marketplace apps: Xporter and Xray for Jira. Funny enough, I’m now working at the same company as a Software Developer of Xporter for Jira Cloud :).

Did you teach your colleagues about Trello? How has Trello improved your workflow?

Yes, I shared Trello with the rest of my class and many colleagues. Teachers even started using it at the university! Actually, I believe teachers are still recommending this tool to their students on some curricular units. Before using Trello, we didn’t have much experience with software development workflows and we worked in a pretty archaic fashion. There wasn’t issue tracking or any clear issue status, and definitely no definition of done! Trello brought us everything we needed at that time: Collaboration, organization, issue tracking and planning––all in a very interactive way.

softwareboard (1) copy.png

Can you share some examples of software boards you’ve created?