Community Leader Ammar Butt shares his inspiration and path into Atlassian certification

To inspire us in our journey in learning more of Atlassian products, we've interviewed one of our Community Leaders, @Ammar Ahmed Butt, on their path into certification and the mindset that helped achieve these wonderful accolades!

ammar.jpg
"Learn from your failures and never get disappointed. Remember that failure is a stepping stone to success, and despite failing even once, don't lose heart." - Ammar

Hi, Ammar! Can you tell us a little bit about yourself + your role today?

Hi everyone, I'm Ammar Ahmed Butt. I'm a product leader with a passion for solving problems. Almost a year back I shifted my career, and since I was an Electrical Engineer, I had to start from scratch. Yep! An intern at a software house, who had no clue what Jira or Confluence was or anything about the daily routine of a Product/Project Manager.

Now, I'm working as a Product Manager and Development Process Lead at XStak. I manage a diverse portfolio of product lines for the company, and a few months back I became the first Atlassian Community Leader from my city.

How did you hear about Atlassian products, and how do you use them today? 

My company had been using Jira and Confluence, but no one had any idea how these products could actually add value and save time. When I began, I was told how to make reports by exporting tickets to Excel and sending them to our stakeholders. I was curious: why were we using this product just for sending out reports?

This curiosity brought me towards exploring Atlassian products, and I'm grateful my boss, Tauseef Rehman, my mentor Malik Waleed, and CEO Ali Aziz, they supported me and pushed me towards learning.

Now our whole process has been automated. I made mistakes, seriously—a lot of them! With every mistake, I learned and gained more knowledge.

Why did you decide to become an Atlassian Community Leader?