Call for feedback - Atlassian cloud people directory user visibility

Rusty (Matt)
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 15, 2018

Please note - the logic described in this post is no longer in place. Instead, all users can see each other in the People Directory, and administrators are able to leverage the Browse Users permission when using Jira to restrict access to People Directory, along with other people browse/search experiences like mention or assignee.

There are currently no user-to-user visibility restrictions available in Confluence.

Hi Community,

I'm a Product Manager at Atlassian, responsible for the new people directory on Atlassian Cloud. Its part of our integrated profile transition, allowing you to see users profiles across both Jira and Confluence in one directory. It will replace Confluence's people directory soon.

You can get to it today by going to yoursite.atlassian.net/people.

We are about to start featuring the directory more prominently over the coming weeks and I was looking for some feedback on a couple of points. Visibility of other people can be a touchy subject, and we want to start transitioning from a configurable people-visibility approach to a "smart-default" approach.

Today in Jira, administrators can grant the "view users and groups" global permission to groups on their site. This controls who can see other users in things like user pickers and mentions. By default, this permission is granted to the license group, but many customers customise this setting.

We want stories to help us understand why and how administrators are applying this setting at Jira.

Today in Confluence, it is not possible to restrict visibility of other users, as all licensed users appear in the directory, mentions, and user pickers. There's a customer suggestion to allow similar configurations for Confluence.