Michael Kimathi: A (soon to be) viral video + the key to unlocking personal and community growth

Kimathi.png

@Michael Kimathi _AC Nairobi_ Kenya_ is a bit of a celebrity at Atlassian. This is not only due to his boundless passion for his Nairobi Atlassian User Group (AUG), but also because of the trailer that he recently created to share the magic of his group with the rest of the world. Check out his video below and read on to discover his secret to leadership and community success. 

Tell me a little bit about yourself! 

I love people, music, and swimming in that order. I’m a father, a farmer, an entertainer (thedjmk.com), and a Techie. 

Tell us more about the role technology has played in your life so far
I am a trained Computer Scientist but consider myself an innovator and a trendsetter due to my love of solving problems. My friends know me as a true entrepreneur because my journey entails building solutions and helping build solutions which impact the lives of people and communities around me. I graduated with BSc Computer Science from the top university in Kenya and which is ranked 12th in Africa, the University of Nairobi in the year 2013. I was running a BlackBerry Dev community 2 years prior to my graduation in 2013. During my university years, I helped establish the pioneer GDG's in Kenya. I also built solutions which competed favorably in Prestigious East Africa competition "Pivot East.” I also co-built one of the biggest Open source, agile entrepreneurship communities in East Africa nairuby.org. I am now the co-founder of BantaMik which is a Software and Strategy consulting company.

How did you first find out about Atlassian User Groups (AUGs)?