How Atlassian helped me getting where I am now

Where to start this story that I didn't imagine in my wildest dreams several years ago?

Without any spoilering I can say without Atlassian and especially Confluence I would not be where I am now - no job, no career, no life, no happy Fabienne with cool swag shirts in south of bavaria.

Where I started:
Eight years ago I worked as a graphic designer in an advertising agency in Munich. Improving my Photoshop Level the whole day, doing some more or less interesting vector graphics, drinking espresso and playing kicker - just like I imagined it when I finished school when I was 20. It was all about printing stuff and a little bit of webdesign. Don't understand me wrong here - just the design not any sign of code - just making my colleagues mad who had to realize the websites. A little bit of pixel here a little bit of shadow there.... looking back I must say I'm surprised nobody killed me. But i must confess, I more and more missed challenges and new horizons. I got more interested in technical stuff like realizing my designs myself, understand more of the technical background, doing a little bit of coding and I got hungry for more.

giphy

So half a year before my thirtieth birthday I quit my safe job (a job I wanted since I was 15) to start studying engineering for print and media technology. It was a big deal for me, as you can imagine, and the first weeks were some kind of math, physics, print-technology and other sorts of hell. But some courses where also easy like design, concept and so because of my working experiences. Giving up was never an option and I already looked forward for following course 'Programming' and that's where Atlassian appeared and completely changed my life.

But let's start at the beginning:
Content of Programming is: java and a little bit of html/css (another course would be xml but let's ignore that at the moment)