Managing Roles and Permissions for Next-gen projects

G'day Atlassian community!

My name is Abhinaya Sinha and I'm a product manager for Jira. I've some exciting news to share with you on managing permissions and roles in next-gen projects. 

Recently, we shipped the ability to create roles and to edit permissions for these roles. For convenience sake, we'll refer to this functionality as "Custom Roles" for the remainder of this article. 

You might know that when you create a next-gen project, you get certain roles from the get-go. For Jira Software, these roles are "Administrator", "Member", and "Viewer". For Jira Service Desk, these roles are "Administrator", "Agent", and "Viewer". These roles have predefined permissions assigned to them. These permissions are associated to the role and cannot be changed. Therefore, these default roles cannot be changed either. 

Now, thanks to shipping "Custom Roles", you can create roles of your choice. You still continue to have the 3 roles mentioned above in your next-gen projects. When you create a role, you select the permissions you would like to associate to that role, from a pre-existing list of permissions.

Once a role has been created, you can do 4 things with it:

• You can view the permissions associated with that role
  • You can change those associated permissions 
  • You can clone an existing role and use that as a starting point to create a new role with different permissions
  • Finally, you can delete a role. However, before you do so, you must move any users that belong to that role to another role.

How to access "Custom Roles"

• You access custom roles by clicking on the “manage roles” button under Project Settings > Access (Project Settings > Internal access for Jira Service Desk). 

customroles_1.png