Feature Announcement: User-based Swimlanes for Next-gen

Hey all you cool cats and kittens,

My name is Bryan Lim and I'm a Product Manager working on Jira Software Next-gen. I hope everyone is staying safe from coronavirus. 

We've listened to your feedback, and I'm pleased to announce that we shipped a new feature we call user-based swimlanes. User-based swimlanes allows everyone on the team to personalize their view of the board.

We're opening up swimlane configuration so that each member of the team can view their work on the board in the way that's most useful to them - whether that's by grouping issues by assignee, by epic, or by subtasks.

How to use user-based swimlanes

Simply navigate to the "GROUP BY" menu in the upper right of your board and click the dropdown menu to select the grouping of your choice:

swimlanes.png

Feel free to voice your feedback for this feature (or your feedback for Next-gen, in general) on this thread. Check out our public roadmap for what's coming next: https://www.atlassian.com/software/jira/whats-new/next-gen

Best regards,
Bryan

P.S. Joe Exotic did not approve this message

32 comments

Simon Stannard April 28, 2020

We use customised swimlanes on our board so this is currently a blocker for us moving to NextGen projects.

Workstream looks like it might be doing the same thing in a different way.  How are workstreams defined?

Like # people like this
Louis Rubet April 28, 2020

Hey there !

Will it also be possible to define custom status along with these user-based swimlanes ?

blim
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 28, 2020

@Simon Stannard Epic was renamed to "Workstream" in this example.

@Louis Rubet Right now we only allow you to group by Epic, Assignee, Subtask.