Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using sourcetree from windows to open a heroku git repository

Mike Cave July 10, 2013

Hi There

I'm still new to github and heroku and I'm trying to access a heroku git repository from the sourcetree windows client.

I managed to connect to a public github repository just fine, and I have installed heroku toolbelt and authenticated myself successfully, but I can't figure out the format of the url to put in source path/url.

It would come out of this: git@heroku.com:greengrade.git, how do I convert that into a valid url? I have tried many many variants thus far :)

2 answers

0 votes
Trevor Dearham January 31, 2016

Even though I'm using an SSH key, the only way I managed to clone the git repository was to use https://git.heroku.com/project_name.git, which in your case is https://git.heroku.com/greengrade.git. I'm not sure if it made a difference, but I gave up trying to use SourceTree and did the clone initially using the Heroku Toolbelt, but afterward I knew the URL, doing the initial clone through SourceTree also worked.

0 votes
stevestreeting
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 10, 2013

git@heroku.com:greengrade.git should be a valid URL, but since it's an SSH URL then it will be dependent on you having your SSH key configured correctly. I normally use Pageant for this (the SSH agent that holds your keys in PuTTY format) but you can also use OpenSSH too if you want, the settings are in Tools > Options. You can also launch Pageant from the Tools > Launch SSH Menu option in SourceTree, and also generate or import keys using the Tools > Create or Import SSH Keys menu.