Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to solve an issue when Commiting to origin repo.

jakub kruszewski September 13, 2015

Hello.

Yesterday I was trying to commit from my local repository to the origin. I have to admit, that I am still a beginner in using the sourcetree, so I must be doing something wrong. I have succesfully commited to local master, so the repo is clean already.  Currently I am trying to fix a order in my repository branch, since I get a following error when trying to commit to origin. I believe something is not right with my master order:

The message:

"Updates were rejected because a pushed branch tip is behind it's remote hint counterpart. Check out this branch and integrate the remote changes hint ( git. pull ) before pushing again. "

Can someone help me ?

ss.jpg

ss2.jpg

ss3.jpg

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 14, 2015

Hmm, it looks like you have a disconnected HEAD somehow. I'm going to gues that after Rafal committed some changes to master, you tried to checkout those changes instead of pulling those changes.

In the future, you will get a warning anytime you attempt to checkout a TAG (as opposed to a branch). Until you really understand what that means and whether it is what you want, you should always heed that warning (in other words, don't checkout tags).

To fix your current situation:

1) Try to right-click "master" in the branch list on the left, and select "merge" (make sure that "create a new commit even if fast-forward is possible" is UNchecked).

If SourceTree allows that, try your push again, otherwise comment on this and I'll provide a more complex solution.

0 votes
jakub kruszewski September 14, 2015

What exactly is TAG ?