Sourcetree graph - master vs develop

sho-87 April 2, 2016

I've only just started using git and I'm confused by the sourcetree graph

As a newcomer to git, this outline here seems to be very logical: http://nvie.com/posts/a-successful-git-branching-model/

That would suggest I have a master branch with stable and deployable code, and a parallel develop branch where I can fix things/add features

Turns out that git flow in source tree supports the same type of layout. For example, if you choose to add a new feature, it gets added to the develop branch instead of the master branch

This all makes sense to me, but this isn't really reflected in how the graph is displayed

I've spent the last few hours trying to figure out why the graph in sourcetree is straight/linear despite using git flow to create a develop branch, as well as features off of that branch

It turns out that even if I add features to develop, no branching will occur in the graph unless I make a commit to master that does not exist in develop/any other branch

This seems backwards to me and doesn't fit with the layout in the site listed above, or the layout adopted by git flow. In order to get branching in the graph, I need to make changes to master that are different from develop. Doesn't it make more sense that I should make commits to develop that don't exist in master? (i.e. the other way around?)

Am I just fundamentally misunderstanding git? In my mind I should be making constant commits, features additions in the develop branch, and then merging back into master. But it seems the only way to get graph branching is to make those constant commits in master instead (and then merge into develop?...)

3 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Tim Crall
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 4, 2016