SourceTree - How do I cherry pick?

Dwayne Coussement March 26, 2012

Hi, I really don't find how I have to cherry pick, I'm pretty new to GIT (and SourceTree) and I would like to push certain files (or changes) to one or multiple branches. I don't want to merge completely. So how do I do this with SourceTree?

Thanks!

1 answer

1 accepted

22 votes
Answer accepted
stevestreeting
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 26, 2012

In the log view (Cmd-2), just select one or more commit lines (Cmd-click or Shift-click multi-selects), then right-click and select 'Cherry pick'.

Paul Donovan October 11, 2012

Is there a way to included the SHA of the picked commit in the comment, the way git cherry-pick -x does?

stevestreeting
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 11, 2012

Not right now - at the time this feature was added, the -x behaviour was the default but it's been changed in git since to be an opt-in. i"ll add it to the feature requests.

Miguel dB April 18, 2013

Hi, what about cherry picking without committing? (git cherry-pick -n)

Like Bill Beacom likes this
Zteve April 18, 2013

Re cherry-picking. I find that if I try to cherry-pick more than one commit at the same time which includes the tip of a branch, then the cherry-pick action fails with a message saying that a cherry-pick is already 'in progress'. Is this a bug?

Sumali November 25, 2013

+1 for the feature requests:

cherry picking without committing immediately - https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/SRCTREE-1026

including SHA in the commit message - https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/SRCTREE-1228

Like Fedor_Prokofev likes this
Trejkaz May 6, 2015