It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Read echos from hooks / manage hooks

Hello guys.

I'm quite new with git hooks, so sorry if my question sounds dumb.

I've got a bare repo on my server, and I've set up a post-receive hook to automatically checkout the bare repo to my production directory.  Then, in ST, I've set up a remote that writes to the bare repo.

This is the hook:

#!/bin/bash
while read oldrev newrev ref
do
if [[ $ref =~ .*/master$ ]];
then
echo "Master ref received. Deploying master branch to production..."
git --work-tree=[prod_dir] --git-dir=[repo_dir] checkout -f
else
echo "Ref $ref successfully received. Doing nothing: only the master branch may be deployed on this server."
fi
done

[prod_dir] and [repo_dir] are correctly set to the directories for the production and the bare repo.

Everything was working good, until I started to change the hook, specifically I added the command for composer to update just under the git command. I performed a push, and the checkout didn't work out (my production directory was not updated).

I then read online that I should place any other command right under the `done`. 

Now, I've got a two questions:

1) Is there a way to get the echos from the hook directly in output of ST?

2) Is the post-receive hook triggered if the bare repo is already updated? Because after my first push (that failed) I started to edit the hook in order to test if something was wrong in there, and I kept pushing (ofcourse nothing changed in the files so the status was [up to date]). I tried to do some random stuff, such as echoing "hello" into a file, but nothing happened. I suspect that when everything is up to date, the hook is not triggered.

Thank you!

1 answer

0 votes
Mike Corsaro Atlassian Team Feb 27, 2018

Hello!