Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need Help with Git Clone a live website

Val Okafor May 8, 2013

I just inherited a git enabled website. My goals are

1. Clone this site to my local machine (Windows 7)
  2. Create a repository for this site at Bitbucket
  3. Push changes from my local machine to Bitbucket and then pull those changes to the live site.

This simple goal is challenging because the former developer left a very scant documentation and I am completely new to git.

Here is what I have:

1. I have installed SourceTree client
  2. I have created an empty repo at Bitbucket and
  3. I have access to the live site.

Now for some reason best known to the former developer, this site does not have a repo at Bitbucket rather he was pushing his updates from he development machine to the live site directly. And to further confuse me, in the live site, I found two files id_rsa.bitbucket and id_rsa.bitbucket.pub in /home/user/.ssh and also when I cat /home/user/.ssh/config/ I found

Host Bitbucket.org
User username
IdentityFile ~/.ssh/id_rsa.bitbucket

Now using SourceTree when I try to clone

ssh://websitename.com:22/srv/git/hubs/websiteFolderName.git

I get an access denied error. I get an access denied error. Now I was entering my standard ssh password.

So I was thinking maybe it is because my Windows machine does not have an SSH client, but then I saw that SourceTree have a tool to create or import ssh keys, I tried that but then it created a .ppk key and not a .pub key. In any event I am already confused.

Please I can use any help, if you need more clarification, please let me know. Thanks

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
KieranA
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 12, 2013

Hi Val,