Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to receive pull request in sourcetree

Sylvain CLEMENT November 5, 2013

Here is my problem (I'm quite new to bitbucket and sourcetree).

I have a private repo for a project and have invited a friend with read permissions to this repo (let's call this friend john).

John created a private branch from my repo, made some modifications in the files and then create a pull request.

I received a notification email for this pull request. I have managed to see this pull request in the bitbucket interface (with possibility to make some changes, comments etc... and the possibility to merg/decline).

But, is there a way to receive a notification in sourcetree (for the pull request) then review it in sourcetree and eventually merge it (all from source tree) (as it is possible form the bitbucket web interface).

Thanks in advance for any help

Sylvain

4 answers

3 votes
Arlo Belshee August 18, 2016

GitHub pull requests are just branches. So you can get at least them by just adding them to your fetch spec. See https://gist.github.com/piscisaureus/3342247 .

Basically, PRs are at `refs/pull/*/head`, while the branches you're used to working with are at `refs/head/*`. Fetch both and you can treat PRs just like any other branch.

Atlassian folks: you could auto-add that to SourceTree pretty easily. When I manually add the fetch to the .git/config, SourceTreee gives me a reasonable UX. They are just branches. So don't really need any code change.

skyway9 September 26, 2016

But then how can I resolve conflicts in the pull request from within SourceTree ?

1 vote
Sylvain CLEMENT November 20, 2013

Thanks for the answer but this doesn't explain I cannot see the pull request appear in source tree. If I don't connect to the bitbucket "web site" I'm not informed that a push request have been received !

0 votes
KieranA
Rising Star
Rising Star