Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create a GIT repository in existing folder full of files?

Michał Kiełtyka February 25, 2015

Hello, I believe this may be considered as a stupid question but I didn't find the answer. I'm brand new to GIT and SourceTree and I want to create a GIT repository in existing folder which contains my project files.

I know how to create a GIT repository in empty folder but I don't know how to create GIT repository when there are already created files.

Sorry for my English errors,

Defozo

16 answers

1 accepted

10 votes
Answer accepted
Balázs Szakmáry
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 25, 2015

The safest way to do this is to create a new repo on the server, clone the empty repo into a new folder and copy/move the existing files into that.

Michał Kiełtyka February 25, 2015

So it can't be done the other way? It smells to me like a lack of functionality. Anyway, thanks for the answer.

Like Barnabás Nagy likes this
Balázs Szakmáry
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 26, 2015

You can also do a git init in the existing folder: http://git-scm.com/docs/git-init and then set a remote and push it to the server. Since the remote repo has to exist when you push your changes, I think the above method is more straightforward / less error-prone.

Like # people like this
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
February 26, 2015