Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I delete the changes made by the master branch which I deleted?

Arkl1te August 13, 2015

So I accidentally made changes with the master branch, when I was supposed to do it with my own branch.

Somehow I ended up like this:

qCZszGR[1].png

Inside the red area: the ones that I want to delete

Inside the blue area: the ones that I want to keep.

As you may or may not notice, I'm really new to these kind of things. I already deleted the master branch. What should I do to accomplish this?

2 answers

0 votes
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 13, 2015

It looks like you pushed your changes to master to the "origin" remote. This is a problem for you - it is dangerous to try to rewrite history that has been pushed to other repositories.

The safest approach is to make an additional commit to master that reverses the changes that aren't supposed to be there. SourceTree can help you with this if you right-click on each bad commit, and choose "Reverse commit".

To fix your Fabian branch - DO NOT PUSH IT. From your screenshot, the change you don't want has not been pushed. This makes it safer to rewrite the history to remove that commit. First, checkout your local Fabian branch. Second, right click on the commit that you want your Fabian branch to be on (probably origin/Fabian). Select "Reset current branch to this commit". In the dialog that comes up, a hard reset will also overwrite your working copy. A mixed reset will keep the changes from the bad commit as Uncommitted changes.

Hope that helps.

Johannes Kilian
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.