How can I create remote repository (BitBucket) via SourceTree?

Jakub Pawlik November 7, 2015

Hey. Question is as in the topic - how can I createremote repository (BitBucket) via SourceTree?

I'm complete beginner when it comes to both SourceTree and Git. I've been trying to create remote repository using guide from Unity site (not sure if I can link such things, so I won't) but it seems guide applies to some older version of SourceTree. In guide, after adding your Bitbucket account and skipping step with cloning repository you get step where you can create local or remote repository. Unofrtunately i didn't have it, and now I can't find where to create remote one (I can only find creation of local one, or at least I think it's local).

Not sure if that's connected, but I haven't created SSH key as of yet (not sure what it is for, have rto read about it first).

I know it's probably silly question but before I start looking for some git commend to do just that, I wanted to know if I'm missing something in SourceTree's UI.

5 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
GabrielleJ
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 8, 2015

Just to clarfiy, Are you findng a hard time creating a remote repository in BItbucket? Or a git repository locally using SourceTree? They are complete different.

If you want to start your work, create a git repository locally via SourceTree by just using the "Clone/New" button, in your case it's the NEW button. This just a simple "git init" operation on your desired directory. Put your codes in. Then do a git commit then you already have a working git repository.