Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Netherlands

Mark Heijnen November 6, 2019

Hi, my name is Mark and I work as an IT manager in healthcare. We are looking into if Jira Servicedesk is a good replacement for our current tool, which we host ourself, Topdesk.

Due strict laws in the Netherlands and Europe, about patient healthcare information I was wandering if there are any Healthcare companies traveling the same path as we would want to do. 

3 comments

Comment

Mike Rathwell
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 6, 2019

Hi @Mark Heijnen ,

think if you went the route I did, where I host Jira/Jira Service Desk myself, you'd be in the same realm you're in with Topdesk. If you went cloud, maybe not so much. While a casual glance says that JSD will do an admirable job of "like for like" replacement of Topdesk, by delving into the Atlassian ecosystem for your tools expands your capabilities rather beyond the one trick pony of ITSM.

Here, we use Jira, Jira Service Desk, and Confluence for basically All The Things. I have a set of tools readily at hand to support essentially any process that needs operating.

SO.... I highly recommend the JSD route hosted on your own systems. It does tons and once you get comfortable with it, you'll start to see the huge possibilities of going this way.

Mark Heijnen November 6, 2019

Thanks for your reply. 
The first problem is that I really don’t want the (extra) costs. It is more expensive, but also the basic infrastructure (server, license etc) - which I don’t have at the moment - is heavy on the financial budget.

second, in don’t have the staff to maintain it. 

So the main difference is hosting via Atlassian or some Atlassian-partner. 

there must be more healthcare companies struggling with these issues?