Why can't I change a story's status on Classic planning board when I am system Admin?

JanaW
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 27, 2013

I am a System Admin and neither I nor the Project Lead on a project are able to edit the status of a story on the classic planning board. The documentation says that it can be done.

2 answers

0 votes
Kai Gottschalk
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 27, 2013

Am I right, that you are able to change the status in JIRA itself? If so, I guess it seems to be a misunderstanding:

In the planning board afaik no change of status could be made, it is simply meant to rank/prioritize your issues/tasks.

In the task board you can move the issues - via drag'n'drop - throughout the workflow, until they are closed/done.

I guess, if you click on the status in the planning board (as to be seen in your second screenshot) it changes to the task board, right? For me it does.

Hope I am right with my assumptions, if not let me know by another comment.

Kind regards
Kai

JanaW
Rising Star
Rising Star
March 27, 2013