SharePoint Online index Confluence Content...I need help with this?

shahzad h October 11, 2012

Hi Team,

I am new to Confluence product and in need of some assistance to connect SharePoint online (Office 365) to my Confluence site so that SharePoint can index Confluence site content and show it as part of SharePoint search results.

Setup Info:

----------

. Confluence Site URL: https://confluence-demo.atlassian.net/wiki/

. SharePoint 2013: SharePoint Office 365

I tried:

-------

Now, in SharePoint 2013 I tried creating a 'New Result Source' like following:

. Search Protocol: 'OpenSearch 1.0/1/1'

. Source Url: https://confluence-demo.atlassian.net/wiki/

. Credential Information: Form Authentication

When you pick this option, it asks for a URL and upon entering the URL it presents popup screen with the confluence

screen to log in. So, upon entering the confluence credentials i get an error An error occured when communicating

with the remote server. This my be because the URL provided was malformed or the site might be unavailable or it

could not be reached within the specified timeout or the proxy settings are not configured.

Questions:

---------

1. What are my options to crawl Confluence site content from within SharePoint online?

2. I assume 'OpenSearch' would be one option(might be only one)? If yes, then what do I need to do on my Confluence sit so that SharePoint can use the 'OpenSearch' protocal against my Confluence site?

3. Let's say, using 'OpenSearch', I am able to pull in content from Conluence into SharePoint then how does the security trimming work?

4. While setting up the crawl rule in SharePoint, any guidance on what credential type to use?

I would greatly appreciate your prompt response on this matter.

Thank you for your time.

2 answers

0 votes
hsuhailah
Rising Star
Rising Star