PocketQuery - how would I create radio buttons in a template for dynamic parameter changes

Eugene Domingo November 4, 2014

I'm very new to html and database queries.  I understand how to create a radio button.  But how would I pass that parameter into the query?

I have this radio button:

<input name="Provider" value="All" type="radio" checked="checked">

I'm pretty sure I may have to use some sort of get function, but I don't know the syntax.  Maybe value="$!req.getParameter(Provider)"?

I been reviewing the PocketQuery documentation and I cannot make out much on further customizing the templates for something like this.  The default template in the documentation seems to run through a loop to display the parameters.  But I would like to create parameters that I can place in specific areas of the page through formatting.

I might also ask, is passing the parameter the same way with a text field?

2 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Felix Grund (Scandio)
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 5, 2014

Hi Eugene!

I created a sample template with radio buttons for you. This is my query:

SELECT Name, Continent, Population
FROM Country
WHERE Continent = :continent

This is my template:

<form method="get" class="aui pq-dynamic-parameter-form" action="">
	<h4>Change the continent here:</h4>
	<div>
		Europe<input type="radio" name="pq_continent" value="Europe">
		Africa<input type="radio" name="pq_continent" value="Africa">
		Oceania<input type="radio" name="pq_continent" value="Oceania">
	</div>
	<button type="submit" class="pq-change-button aui-button aui-style aui-button-primary">GO</button>
</form>

$PocketQuery.template("default")

This is my macro browser:

screenshot2.png

This is my view when I click the radio "Africa" and "GO":

screenshot.png

It works perfectly smile