Only dashboard seems when i log in to jira,i can not create a project

Emre Koca November 30, 2013

Hi,I have installed the free trial version of Jira (download). But when i log in,i just see my dashboard and its' customizes. But i want to create a project,and manage it. I want to use jira with its all functions. What do I need to do ? Please help me.. Thank you..

2 answers

0 votes

Ok thank you,i am new in jira so i am trying to understand. How can i find someone to add me as an admin.

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 30, 2013

Add a project, as per the documentation at https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Defining+a+Project

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 30, 2013

As you installed it, the first user would have been set up as an administrator

If you are that user, then click "administrate" at the top right. If you are not, then you need to get them to add you to the admin group.

Normal users cannot create projects.

Thank you for your answer. As your answer, i think i am a user,not an administrator. At the page you linked, it says "add a project if you are an administrator" Then how can i be a jira administrator to add a project ?

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
November 30, 2013

Again, if you are not an adminstrator, then you need to get someone who is to add you as an admin.

(By the way, when I said "click adminstrate", I meant click the "administrate cog", it's not a menu word there)

I've checked it again,on the right top there is no "administrate" tab. So spesifically,could you tell me what to do, to be a admin to create a project ?