Looking for Best-Practices: SME Finder, Q&A Broadcast, and Team-to-Team Knowledge Flow

I am somewhat new to Confluence, and trying to understand some of the features and capabilities. It seems to be a great one-to-many tool, but I need help understanding the best option for a SME Finder, Q&A Broadcast capabilities, and Team-to-Team capabilities. I imagine there are features, or macros that can facilitate this, but what is the best-way to apply it across our organization? What is the best way you have tackled this?

1) Need: SME Finder

- I want to locate Subject-Matter-Experts (SMEs) via a simple search.

o For instance, I have a question about the Healthcare Industry handles XYZ Processes. Thus, I want to find the Healthcare SMEs.

2) Need: Q&A Broadcast

- Similar to a Message Board or Forum, I want to be able to post my question in a General Area or specific Space for others to help me resolve.

(

3) Need: Team-to-Team Capabilities

- This is more around reporting. How do I know the teams/spaces that are most productive? Where is the Knowledge Flowing?

o How many people have visited a space?

o What is the most visited space?

o What is the most active space? (New Pages, New Posts, Replies, etc …)

o Who are the most active users? (Views, Replies, Creates, etc …)

o Most active Teams (and Inactive Teams)

o Different # of Contributors

Looking forward to your insight.

John

1 answer

John,

Glad to see you're trying to think of the "why" about using Confluence; as an administrator, I wish everyone knew how they wanted to use the tool like how you're envisioning.

Now, as to your question..

1. SME Finder: There are a few ways to accomplish this, and I imagine combining them all would yield the best results.