Is it possible to assign the 'Browse User' global permission to a project role?

motherg September 12, 2012

If this was a user story it'd look something like this:

As an Project Administrator I want to be able to Browse Users so that I add them project roles without needing to know their JIRA username.

I think that makes sense? Based on the roles available under a project (we're moving away from the groups schema) I want to allow the users in the Administrator role to be able to add other users to the various project roles. They want to do this as well but they want the "hint" to appear - you start typing in someones name and they list of possible users is displayed, gradually reducing as you type in more.

At the moment I've had to make this permissiona available to 'Anyone' but I was wondering if I could do what I wanted and restrict it to a project role?

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted

Seems like I'm largely on the right track then - what I'm working towards is a system when I'll have super groups for PM and QA, which will have the global permission for Browsing Users, whilst developers will not be able to do this (because, with the way we work, they wil never have a need to do anything that utilises that functionlaity).

I guess in this example it isn't as relevant because Browse User isn't really a permission that can cause any problems, but with the other global permissions I'm sure you can see scenarios where you might want to make it available to product managers and jira admins only. But in this case, you might want that permission to be limited to that specific project.

I *think* I might have solved that with my super group idea where members of the group has the permission, but the group isn't assigned to any project roles, so they get the permission without having access to every project (because the relevant product manager would be given the administrator role on their project et).