How to best handle multiple components and multiple teams?

Andrew Miller October 22, 2012

Just starting a new project and the client has decided to use jira and green hopper. As we build out the project we'll be working on several components, each with it's own git repo. And we'll be split into 2 (maybe 3) teams, each focusing on it's own components with perhaps independent release schedules.

So I'm looking for a recommendation on how to should handle multiple components and multiple teams in greenhopper; I can se a few options:

• only one project
  • one project per team
  • one project per component
  • ... other optins?

I'm brand new to green hopper so I'm not sure how these options play out with agile boards and sprints. Any advice for us from folks who've been down this path before?

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Pascal
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 22, 2012

I would go either of these two routes:

1. have a project per component, or
  2. have one big project

The advantage of the first one is that it easily keeps each components with its own release schedule seperate. No interference whatsoever. Also it allows you to administer the versions of each component separately.