How does PocketQuery differ from the SQL Macro + Chart Macro combo by Appfire?

Rory McCallion July 23, 2014

I'm a power data analyst here at Atlassian and I use the SQL Macro + Chart Macro + Run Macro to make all sorts of powerful reports. I'm excited to find a new reporting pluging for writing SQL and visualizing the results! I'd like to know what features or benefits I can get from using PocketQuery, and if there are any specific usecases which make it preferable to my usual toolset. Thanks!

– Rory

1 answer

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Felix Grund (Scandio)
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 6, 2014

Hi Rory,

Thank you for your question and your interest in PocketQuery! I know that the macros you mentioned can be very powerful and you can do some good reporting with them. There might be use cases, however, where PocketQuery might help you achieve expressive reports. Let me summarize some key strengths of the plugin:

• Only administrators can create/edit/delete SQL queries. These queries can have named parameters that are replaced by the macro parameters specified by users of the PocketQuery macro. This way, we want to ensure that queries are secured by administrators and users don't have to fiddle with SQL code.
  • Queries can be dedicated to specific spaces by administrators, so you can scope where they can be used by the macro.
  • Administrators can create custom templates for rendering the result from the database. These templates can contain arbitrary Velocity code, enhanced by a few objects that are provided in the Velocity context by PocketQuery. In these templates you can also create different kinds of charts (see next point).