Followed install instructions for JIRA but can't get it to show in browser.

fuzzee February 9, 2013

I'm a lone developer who just purchased and downloaded a load of Atlassian tools for my own use on a single home PC. I am trying (and now given up after three hours or so) to follow the Dragons install path (https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/ATLAS/Dragons+Stage+1+-+Install+JIRA) but failed at stage 1 step 4: install JIRA. No matter what I try I can't get it to work. All instructions have been followed to the letter: all default install locations and all environment variables set up as shown. I have even tried new port settings and using a full Tomcat install instead of the bundled one. My PC runs windows 7 ultimate on a quad-core AMD Phenom 2 X2 840 CPU with 8GB RAM. I have the latest Java 7 JDK installed and latest PostgreSQL database running. I couldn't find anything in the help or forums so am turning to you as a last place of hope. Can you help?

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
fuzzee February 9, 2013
I uninstalled everything and restarted the Dragon trail. I first installed Apache Tomcat 7 then did the following different steps to last night regarding Environment Variables after the successful Tomcat install:
  • Didn't set CATALINA_BASE
  • Set CATALINA_HOME to the Apache Tomcat install directory without adding the bin directory.
  • Set Path to include %CATALINA_HOME%\bin;
  • Set CLASSPATH to include %CATALINA_HOME%\lib
I then ran the windows installer and JIRA started as expected.
1 vote
Bruno Rosa
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 9, 2013

Hello there,

Allow me to share the JIRA installation docs with you:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Installing+JIRA+on+Windows