Created a local working copy... guide to creating a bare clone on my webserver?

Benjamin Allison April 7, 2013

I'm a total noob to git, and hate (HATE) working in the Terminal (which is why I'm using SourceTree!).

Here's the issue. I've created my local working copy. Everything's humming along nicely. Now what I want to do is create a bare clone on my webserver, and allow SourceTree to push changes to it.

I'm hosting on MediaTemple. They're set up for git, and I've created my subdomain as they recommend (git.mydomain.com).

The plan is to put the clone in git.mydomain.com, and then push changes which will appear on the live site, mydomain.com

I'm hoping to do all this from within SourceTree but am struggling to determing how to actually achieve that. Is this possible? Is there any kind of guide that can walk me through the steps?

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
KieranA
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 7, 2013

Hey Benjamin,

Unfortunately you will have to hop on the server via the terminal in order to initialise the remote repository so you can push to it. By whatever option MediaTemplate give you, presumably SSH access via your terminal so you can log in, go to the remote location pertaining to git.mydomain.com and initalise a bare repository by doing "git init --bare".

In SourceTree you'll then want to add a new remote and specify your MediaTemplate server's URL as the remote. From here you can then push to it because you're probably using the same SSH keys as before from when logging in.

Hope that helps, if not, feel free to ask away!

Thanks Kieran! That's not sooooooobad. So, do I simply initialize a repo on the server, and then push everything to it, or do I have to clone first?