Can I use JIRA to track issues for a project that spans across multiple products?

Cyrus Doomasia March 17, 2014

Hello,

I am a newbie to JIRA and I was hoping that the experts out there can help me out.

My company is currently implementing a complex project. This project requires implementing on at least 4 different products. Each product has numerous Components.

PROJECT ABC

• Product A
    • Component A1
      • Issue 00001
    • Component A2
      • Issue 00001
  • Product B
    • Component A1
      • Issue 00001
    • Component A2
      • Issue 00001
  • Product C
    • Component A1
      • Issue 00001
    • Component A2
      • Issue 00001
  • Product D
    • Component A1
      • Issue 00001
    • Component A2
      • Issue 00001

Each product is developed by a different team that maintain their own sets of issues. Currently, there is no easy way for the project manager (or an executive) to track what are the gating issues on the WHOLE project. He or she has to go to individual products to find its status.

Can and how would one setup JIRA to help with this situation?

Thank you!

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
John Price
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 17, 2014

Hi Cyrus -

Since you didn't mention Jira Agile I will assume you aren't using that. If these products are software applications with different codebases, bugs, features, etc. I would suggest having a different Jira project per product. In order to see what's going on across all the products, I would create some saved filters and custom Jira dashboards. For example, let's say your project is to release MS Office 3000, and you have teams working on Word, Excel, and PowerPoint. I'd have Jira projects and components like:

WORD

Editor

Printing

Import/Export

EXCEL

Import/Export

Formulas

PPT