Auto update a subtask when the parent is updated WITHOUT post function?

Moriah Chandler
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 26, 2014

I know I can set fields for subtasks based on the parent during creation. However, when I change the fixVersion for the parent, I want all of the subtasks to be updated also.

I have JJUPIN, ScriptRunner, etc installed and I want to use a listener to achieve this so that it doesn't require a postfunction.

Every script sample I have seen only updates the field when the subtask itself is changed (not the parent) - example:

https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/155302/how-do-i-default-the-value-of-a-sub-task-field-to-the-value-of-a-parent-field

I have tried to modify the code, but I am not a developer :(

I have also tried to use a SIL listener but get the same result - the subtask fixVersion is not updated when the parent issue is changed.

The SIL listener:

if(isNull(parent)) {
   fixVersion=customfield_11901;
} else {
   fixVersion = parent.fixVersion;
}

(The customfield_11901 is a string that contains the Sprint name because our fixVersion = Sprint and we don't want to have to set that field manually.)

Can anyone help please?

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Moriah Chandler
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 9, 2014

Here is what we ended up with - using SIL:

fixVersion=customfield_11901;
if(isNotNull(parent)) {
   return;
}
for(string subtask in subtasks(key)) {
    %subtask%.fixVersions = fixVersions;
}

Where customfield_11901 is a string field with the sprint name.

2 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader