Tips and Tricks for Teleworking and Remote/Virtual Teams

Jodi LeBlanc
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 31, 2020

Working from home this week has been "business as usual" for me as I have been working remotely for the past five years. Working from home was not originally by choice as I am an extrovert and I get my energy from being around people. At the time I had accepted a new job but didn't realize they did not have a physical office in Prince Edward Island (PEI), so the default was work from home. As I had never worked from home before I had to think fast and get into high gear quickly to ensure I was set up and ready to hit the ground running. The first few weeks were challenging, however in time I ended up finding out what worked well for me so that I could get things done efficiently and effectively, while keeping my energy levels up as an extrovert. 

Since many of you are working remotely these days due to the global Covid-19 pandemic, I wanted to share with you my tips and tricks for teleworking and remote/virtual teams. I delivered a presentation back in 2018, and these are some highlights.

NOTE: Not all of these tips may be possible for you to implement if you are going to be teleworking for a short duration, but I am hoping you can adapt and modify to meet your needs, and to get some ideas. You can back-pocket the other tips if you plan to work remotely in "normal circumstances" in the future.

establishing trust.png

set boundaries.png

ergo.png

telework colleagues.png

tools.png

virtual networks.png

usermanual.png

virtual teams.png

And a few more miscellaneous tidbits:

Favourite tips to avoid procrastination: Focusmate, Pomodoro Technique