Portfolio Management and Projects in Jira

Carlos Veguilla March 21, 2018

Hi I'm new to Jira.

I think it's very simple from a development team perceptive to use this tool.

My concern is management, they would like to see the work "Roll Up" into their roadmap or initiative.

So, before I start using Jira, wouldn't it be best to start with Portfolio for Jira to define the Road Maps or Initiatives first, then define issue sources to be pulled fro Jira?

I'm also concern about managing the Portfolio as a separate project, especially if we have to have a custom hierarchy.

What is the most effective way to us both?

4 answers

0 votes
Roi Fine
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 21, 2018

Hi guys,

There was a similar discussion around how to structure "higher up" issues such as initiatives in Jira & Portfolio. You can check it out here

Cheers,

Martin Huddleston March 22, 2018

Very helpful thank you.  One question, does it matter whether you create projects first or issue types?   If a project exists can we add the new hierarchy and issue types afterwards?

Roi Fine
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 22, 2018

You can always add additional issue types to an existing project. This document will assist you along the way:  https://confluence.atlassian.com/jiraportfolioserver/configuring-initiatives-and-other-hierarchy-levels-802170489.html

Cheers,

0 votes
Mario O.G
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 21, 2018

Hi Carlos, and Martin.

If you guys are still looking for a solution, please consider giving Structure for Jira a try.