Seven best practices for agile in Jira (Medium.com)

Russell J Zera _Philadelphia_ May 3, 2019

I just posted my newest article on Medium! Go ahead and take a read on Medium to boost my readership there, but I'm also posting below, and feel free to discuss in the thread here!

https://medium.com/@russell.j.zera/seven-best-practices-for-agile-in-jira-c3177bc3a9fc

As an Agile Coach at Elsevier, Inc and co-lead of the Philadelphia Atlassian Community Events group, I am passionate about sharing ideas about Agile practices and Atlassian tools. Throughout my experience as a Scrum Master and Scrum Product Owner, and now as an Agile Coach, I continually run into situations where teams feel they have to choose between following agile principles and organizing and tracking their work in Jira. In fact, Jira is designed with agile in mind, which is obvious when you break down the core organization and flexibility of the tool. The challenge these teams have faced is that some administrator (admittedly, sometimes that administrator was me) has made Jira rigid and rule-laden. In my early days as a Jira administrator, I felt that if a feature was available in Jira’s back-end, then it must be used. But true to the adage, “Just because you can do something doesn’t mean you should,” Jira exists to add flexibility — not take it away.

If you want your teams to work agile within Jira, you should first keep in mind the Agile Manifesto and the Twelve Principles to the Agile Manifesto. Some of the best practices described below specifically call out some of these principles and values. Configuring your solutions according to those two resources will solve most of your problems. With that in mind, here are my seven best practices for working agile in Jira, which I impart to every team and instance I support.

1) KISS (Keep It Simple, Stupid)

The Office [TV Series]. (2005). NBC. courtesy 1999jfs_08 on Reddit ( https://www.reddit.com/r/DunderMifflin/comments/7zubij/keep_it_simple_stupid/)