cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Its all about balance...

Kimberly Deal _Columbus ACE_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 24, 2018

This discussion question centers more around Jira, but could apply to other Atlassian tools as well. With my job as a Jira Administrator, I get a lot of customization request.  Can we add this field, have this status in our workflow, change up our screens?  Some times things are pretty simple, but sometimes the requests are very specific and granular.  

We'd like this Custom field to be drop down instead of check boxes, or lets reword the name of this Custom field from Origin to Point of Origin.  We want very specific users to be able to do very specific things etc.  Making it difficult to keep things shareable, and even just manageable in a large environment!

How do you balance between what customers want (and by customers, this could be teammates, other users in your office, or a client)  and what is really best practices in Jira?  Are there some good tips for assisting with determining the actual needs of folks making the requests?  How do you steer them to options that work best for the global environment vs the one time specific use? 

1 comment

Comment

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 25, 2018

I think I use a range of tactics and tricks.  My favourites though are

• Making it clear that if I add their (pointless) field to their project, inflicting it on everyone else, then they will get the other fields other projects ask for.  Because you're all supposed to be working in similar ways.