What Nonprofit learning resources would you recommend to Community members?

Monique vdB
Community Manager
Community Managers are Atlassian Team members who specifically run and moderate Atlassian communities. Feel free to say hello!
September 14, 2020

Hi there! Nice to meet you all. My name is Monique and I am a member of Atlassian’s Community team. In a past life, I was an English instructor (and even though I now work in tech, I am still a voracious reader).  

I am constantly on the hunt for a good read, whether to learn or to relax. A resource that I reference often is Buzzing Communities, which I like because it gives a good basic overview of community management. I often have to break down community management into digestible tidbits, and Rich Millington does a great job doing that. 

What books/podcasts/webinars would you recommend to other Community members in the Nonprofit industry? How have these resources helped you in your role?

Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Cheers,

Mo

2 comments

Comment

Jeff Tillett
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 15, 2020

Great post! 

On my bookshelf I have the following standards which I share with others regularly:

1. Radical candor - Sets the foundation for how to communicate with your team to achieve the best results
  2. The Phoenix Project - Compares IT work to a physical manufacturing plant so that you can get out of your own head and understand tech work from a different angle and be more effective with decision making
  3. The Unicorn Project - The sequel/parallel story to Phoenix Project where you understand why simple coding philosophies and fast feedback are important to focus on, and not "just minutia"