Subtask order in a Next-gen project

Francesca G. September 11, 2019

Hello,

I'm new to Jira and I'm evaluating the Next Gen Proj Board.

I've some task in my board with subtask, which in my case should be ordered to improve their readability. Can't understand if there is a way to do this or not. 

Can you help me?
Thanks!

4 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Eoin
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 19, 2020

@Francesca G. @Mark Preston @Petter Gonçalves @Leonard Plotkin @Herve Leung-Tack we've just introduced ranking in the issue view! There are a couple of places for us to add real time updates being reflected across the views but the majority is in place now. Let me know if you have any further questions :)

Mark Preston January 21, 2020

Thanks @Eoin  useful improvement and was good to be able to move around sub tasks under a task to get the order of work progression needed

Like Eoin likes this
2 votes
Petter Gonçalves
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 13, 2019

Hello Francesca,

Welcome to Atlassian Community!

I understand that you would like to group the Sub-tasks below their parent task in your Next-gen board. Have I understood it correctly?

To do  it, you can click on the Group By drop-down on the right side of the board and choose Sub-task:

Screen Shot 2019-09-13 at 16.18.31.png

By default, the order of the sub-tasks below their parent will be based on the issue key (ABC-1, ABC-2, etc).

Now, if you are looking for a way to change that default order of the sub-tasks, I'm afraid it is not possible because they are based on the board filter that you can not customize in Next-gen projects. In fact, we have a feature request opened for that here:

Ability to configure board filters for next-gen projects