How can I manage closed sprints in next-gen? I need to edit a sprint name, and delete a sprint.

Bernadette Buck October 21, 2019

Hi folks,

I need to edit a sprint name, and delete a sprint in a next-gen project. Both sprints are already closed. I am an Administrator on the project so I know I have Manage Sprints permission. I can create sprints. Is editing a sprint name or deleting a sprint available in next-gen yet? I saw on this post as of Feb 2019 it seems it is not yet. Any update?

Thanks,

Bernadette

[eta "closed"]

7 answers

4 votes
Kayla Hennegin April 9, 2020

+1. Would like to be able to edit closed sprints for NextGen. If you accidentally close, or notice a typo in name or description (after you close), it's frustrating to not be able to make changes.

2 votes
Walter Buggenhout
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 21, 2019

Hi Bernadette,

It seems you can. In the backlog view of your board, find the button with the 3 dots next to the sprint's name. There you can edit sprint details and even delete the sprint:

Screenshot 2019-10-21 at 16.12.33.png

Bernadette Buck October 21, 2019

Thank you! I should have specified, the sprints I want to edit and delete are closed, so they don't appear on the backlog screen. I updated my question to clarify.

Walter Buggenhout
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 21, 2019

Indeed. I'm afraid next gen projects do not support updates to closed sprints yet. In classic projects, you can reopen a sprint from the Sprint report, but this is not fully featured yet for next-gen projects.

See also this community post about the reporting 

Like Bernadette Buck likes this
Nick Kendall-Bar March 4, 2020