New Features: Additional Done Statuses + Map Multiple Statuses per Column for Jira Software Next-gen

Hello Atlassian Community,

My name is Bryan Lim and I'm a Product Manager working on Jira Software.

Today, I'm pleased to announce the launch of two features that give Jira Software next-gen (soon-to-be-named team-managed!) workflows more power and flexibility.

1. You can now assign additional statuses to a Done status category (for example, you can set your “Won’t Fix” status to a Done status category), so that you can accurately reflect the status of your team's work.

2. You can now map more than one status per column on the board, and each status will be represented as a drop zone on your board’s column, so that you can keep your board tidy.

Tutorial

As your team triages incoming issues, you may come across issues that you decide you “Won’t Fix” due to various reasons (e.g., a reported bug is actually expected behavior). Now, we’ve allowed you to add additional Done statuses via the Workflow Editor:

1. Navigate to the Workflow EditorScreen Shot 2021-03-16 at 12.53.37 AM.png

2. Click on the add a “Done status” button on the top menu:

Screen Shot 2021-03-16 at 12.54.02 AM.png

3. Type in a name for your new status, press the return key, and click "Add" to add your status:

Screen Shot 2021-03-16 at 12.54.55 AM.png

4. Feel free rearrange your statuses (by dragging and dropping each status) to depict your team's workflow. When you're finished, click “Save and close”

Screen Shot 2021-03-16 at 12.55.18 AM.png

5. (Optional) Highly recommended: If you’re running sprints, please map your Done statuses to the last column. To do this, open your new “Configure board” setting via the board:Screen Shot 2021-03-16 at 12.55.53 AM.png

6. Drag and drop the “Won’t Fix” status to the Done column and delete the Won’t Fix column:

Screen Shot 2021-03-16 at 12.57.53 AM.png