Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Issues/Components/Projects, etc... Organization

I'm new to Jira and I come from a waterfall methodology. Currently, we have business folks that submit enhancement requests, a BSA, would write a BRD, and then those requirements would then get sent to a developer.

I'm confused about how to organize requirements into an enhancement request.

Should we have one project for each enhancement?

Should we have one project for each system? (i.e. Salesforce)?

How do we group the requirements so know which requirements go with each enhancement? 

We'll have several enhancements associated with Salesforce and I see each project has their own release schedule, so I'm kind of thinking that I would need a way to group each enhancement together 

Help me please!

THANKS in advance!

2 answers

3 votes

Hi @Joshua Dumas welcome to the Atlassian community.

Please be informed, their are multiple options that I see. However, your Jira admin would be able to assist you better, given your organization hierarchy or projects set up.

Option 1: You can create multiple boards for a single project. Eg., Development team will have a Scrum board and QA team have a Kanban board. This gives them to concentrate better on the tasks in hand.

Option 2: Have multiple projects on a single board. e.g., Their are 3 projects running and you would like to see the status of all project issue types in a single board. This gives a quick visibility to management or Scrum master (also if PM) etc.

Option 3: Recently I have been checking market place apps and I see a tool Big-Picture with portfolio level visibility and track. @Anna-SoftwarePlant could you please share details on this query and ideas.