• Give kudos
  • Received
  • Given

Leaderboard

• Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Import clear quest defect history field to Jira comments field..

Hi,

I am new to JIRA Migration. Planning to import content from clear quest to JIRA Cloud.

Started the same with CSV Import method . Tried importing most of the fields except "History".  Can any one pls let me know how to import history field to Jira cloud?

Thanks

Vishnu

1 answer

0 votes
Mikael Sandberg Community Leader Oct 28, 2019

You cannot import issue history, the only history you can import are dates. I would suggest to add the historical data as a comment to each issue that is imported.

Thanks for your response.

I have many more projects and issues to import into Jira. What exactly does it mean - "add the historical data as a comment to each issue" - You want me add it manually to issues before doing CSV Import? 

You need to modify your csv file to also include a column for the history of the issue, and then when you do the mapping for the import set the history column to be imported as a comment.

Since ClearQuest exports the history in a separate file you would have to combine that with the file that has your issues.

Yes. ClearQuest exports history in a file but the issue is we can have multiple history  records for one issue. I am just thinking how to combine these history records in the file that has issues.  Is there any script to combine multiple records in one cell for one defect?

Pls confirm..