Newbie here

Jonathon_McCutcheon May 8, 2020

So just got started with my first Jira board!!

I humbly would love to hear any suggestions that all the pro's have learned, that they wish they knew when they created their first board?  I bet there are a lot!

Thanks in advance!!

4 comments

Comment

Ravi Sagar _Sparxsys_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 9, 2020

Hi @Jonathon_McCutcheon 

Great that you started. I can share few things.

• First of all I think you can ask yourself "What problems are you trying to solve?" Problems that you and your team constantly face.
  • What is your role? Are you a developer, project manager, portfolio manager or stakeholder.
  • Understand what type of board you want to create? Scrum or Kanban? It of course depends on your development methodology.
  • Do you just want to monitor the progress at high level or you want in depth details.
  • Do you want to manage one project with one board or multiple projects with one board?
  • How your team is organised?
  • How often you release? If you are releasing.
  • Are you using Jira to develop a software? or just getting things/tasks done?

I am assuming that you are interested in Agile board, this page has good information about these boards. 

If you have a specific question about some specific feature that you are looking for then you can always ask here. If you answers to the questions above then I am sure people will have some suggestions for you.

Ravi

Like Walter Buggenhout likes this
Jonathon_McCutcheon May 9, 2020

@Ravi Sagar _Sparxsys_   Thank you so much! Everyone is so helpful in here, this is outstanding!  I have some of those questions answered, but you gave me a great start at finding some of the other ones out!